Eustis Estate to be converted to a historic house museum and study center
This month, Historic New England will begin site work to transform the 1878 William Ellery Channing Eustis Estate into a historic house museum and study center.
The overall project includes restoring the house’s decorative interior finishes and making all public spaces in the museum accessible, transforming the existing garage into a visitor center, and converting the gatehouse into office space.
A rare surviving intact example of the early work of renowned Boston architect William Ralph Emerson, the Eustis Estate also includes eighty acres of picturesque landscape adjoining the Blue Hills Reservation. When the project is completed, the house museum and grounds will be open for tours, special exhibitions, and programs that explore the architecture, interior decoration, and landscape of this iconic Milton estate. Plans are for the Eustis Estate Museum and Study Center to open to the public in spring 2017.
About Historic New England
Historic New England is the oldest, largest, and most comprehensive regional heritage organization in the nation. Historic New England owns and operates thirty-six historic homes and landscapes spanning five states. The organization shares the region’s history through vast collections, publications, public programs, museum properties, archives, and family stories that document life in New England. For more information visit HistoricNewEngland.org.